Facebook Backup and Sync are additional ways to get memories into your FOREVER® Storage Account. But what's the difference? And how can you tell what files were saved from Facebook?
Backing Up and Syncing
A Facebook Backup is an action you perform once to bring in all your photos and videos previously posted. This is limited to photos and videos that only you have posted to your own profile — it won’t bring in anything you post to groups, pages, send in messages, photos you are tagged on, or memories posted by others to your profile. This is because Facebook restricts sharing access to only the files you directly own.
In contrast, Facebook Sync is looking for new memories and can be freely toggled ON or OFF. When it is turned ON any new photos and videos will be automatically brought into FOREVER (again, this is restricted to only files posted to your profile). When it is turned OFF your Facebook will still be connected, but it will not automatically save your files.
💡Tip: To get any memories from the time it was turned OFF, you would need to prompt another Facebook Backup — it will skip any files that were brought over previously, whether from a Sync or past Backup.
Additionally, you can also disconnect your Facebook account from FOREVER. This is great if you want to change what FOREVER account your Facebook is connected to, or if you would like to back up another Facebook account to the same Permanent Storage.
Facebook Backup to FOREVER Storage
- Log into your FOREVER.com account on a web browser (unfortunately this is not able to be done in the FOREVER Mobile App at this time).
- Navigate into your Gallery and click on the Upload button.
- In the Upload window select "Facebook Import" from the bottom right side.
- Press the "Back Up" button as shown here:
- If necessary, follow the prompts on screen to log into your Facebook account — please allow a few hours for your memories to fully back up into Storage.
Sync your Facebook to FOREVER Storage
- Log into your FOREVER.com account on a web browser (unfortunately this is not able to be done in the FOREVER Mobile App at this time).
- Navigate into your Gallery and click on the Upload button.
- In the Upload window select "Facebook Import" from the bottom right side.
-
Click the "ON" toggle for Facebook Sync as shown below:
- If necessary, follow the prompts on screen to log into your Facebook account — please allow a few hours for your memories to fully back up into Storage.
To stop automatic syncing, follow steps 1-3 but toggle the option OFF instead. This will NOT disconnect your Facebook account but instead halt any further saving of new memories posted.
Disconnect Facebook from FOREVER Storage
You can follow these steps from Facebook's help article: 🔗Remove an app or game that you've added to Facebook. You may need to wait up to 30 minutes for this to fully take effect to disconnect FOREVER from your Facebook account.
How do I know what memories were saved from Facebook?
All the newly imported photos and videos you posted to your Facebook account will be given a specific Tag to help find and identify them in your FOREVER Storage! Simply navigate to your account's Tags area then scroll or search for "Facebook". You can easily add more Tags or remove the "Facebook" tag now that they're in your Storage. Alternatively, it will show the origin location as being a Facebook Import next to the Uploaded date.
⚠️Warning: If you remove the "Facebook" tag there is no other easy way to filter for them. You would instead need to click through each individual image to find the Facebook Import origin noted next to the Updated date.